My Makeup Box – Lipsticks

I’m a lipstick girl. Traditional sticks of lipstick in pretty twirl up cases. I’ve tried glosses and liquid lipsticks but in the end I always come back to the basics, they’re just so easy to use and the colours are so clean!
img_0391

Over time I’ve amassed quite a collection, it’s so so hard to resist a new one! This post is basically going to be me talking about my favourites and why I love them as well as the stories that go with them. (I also needed a post that would allow me to take pretty pink photo’s as I missed Valentines Day!)

MAC in Matte Pink Plaid

img_0424 img_0456

This was my very first MAC lipstick,  a Christmas gift from my best friend last year. I love the colour, it’s sort of a soft pink-y colour, not so cutesy as some of the ones that fall closer to the baby pink range but more of a “dusky rose” I’d call it. It applies like a DREAM. I often find that the cut on the top of a lipstick is too big and I end up having to wipe away excess from the edges of my lips which can prove really difficult when I’m out and about! But this one doesn’t have that problem at all and it last really well which makes It the perfect handbag lipstick for long days out.

Rimmel –  The Matte Factor #810

img_0446 img_0445

This was almost an impulse buy. I never wear colours this dark, mainly because I feel self conscious in them, but the advertising (yes, I fell victim to good advertising) for this one was sooo well done and I just though “I want to look that sexy. I need that lipstick”. However, I put it back on the shelf and I went home to think about whether I REALLY needed it. Then I went back the next day and bought it. I don’t wear this as much as I’d like to, for the reasons I mentioned above. I get really self conscious. But I do love it, the colour is perfect for a night out,  (in fact, I think I’ll wear it for my birthday next month) and the matte finish makes it less full on. Another pro to it is it actually tastes nice, which I find is unusual in lipsticks. Application is a little difficult because of the shape of the top but after a few tries you do master it, just don’t try and put it on in a moving car!

Bare Minerals Marvellous Moxie Lipsticks – Speak Your Mind & Risk It All

img_0441

Risk It All was a birthday present from my Mama for my 16th Birthday. It fast became my go – to lip colour for both day and evening occasions. It lasts incredibly well, usually one application in the morning can get me through to dinner, as long as I don’t have too many coffee’s along the way! (Lipstick marks on cups though, can we just take a moment in appreciation of the prettiness?) Despite it’s many pro’s I started to feel self conscious wearing such a bright colour in daylight hours and slowly I switched it out of my everyday collection.
Enter Speak Your Mind. Another birthday present, a year later, this has all the long lasting perks of its brighter cousin but it’s much more suitable (in my mind) for days out. The colour is a cute baby pink which I adore. The only fault for me is that both of these lipsticks have a shiny finish and I now prefer a matte. So sadly these two beauties spend most their days on the shelf, waiting for the perfect time to come out in all their bright, glowing, shiny glory.

Benecos – Just Red

img_0451 img_0452

This is my theatre lipstick. I’m a dancer and I have in the past been a part of theatre productions of musicals. This is the lipstick I use on stage, its bright red colour is ideal for the hash stage lighting and even after a few times on and off stage singing my heart out its still holding on strong. My father actually brought me this one back from his travels around Europe, I’m yet to see it in the UK so let’s hope I don’t run out anytime soon! Whilst I find it works perfectly as a show lipstick I would never wear it out and about. But then again, I’m not a reds girl AND it’s a shiny one which we’ve established I’m not a massive fan of.

Trish McEvoy – Vibrant

img_0460 img_0469

This one is relatively new to my collection, it came via my Mama, a free gift with her Vogue Subscription. I am yet to try it properly but I thought it would be interesting to write about what I’m expecting from it and then once I try it see how it matches up to my expectations! Firstly the packaging is beautiful. On more practical matters the cut looks small enough to make for easy application and the colour appears to be a matte pink, sort of a cross between baby pink & dusky rose, which I love. Why it’s called vibrant, I have no idea!

Leave a comment